American Parser

Standing In The Gap Of The Real And Perceived

Trump Showcases Masterful, Inarticulate Ignorance


So, Trey Gowdy has decided to endorse a Republican presidential candidate, and it happens to not be Donald Trump. Oh, for shame!

Trump, in top form, of course, takes an endorsement of any other candidate not as a simple choice, but as a personal affront that needs to be answered in kind with a childish, petty, inarticulate retort. He has no respect for anyone that doesn’t want to help him establish a Trumptate that renames the country after him. The man has not an ounce of grace or humility. Even his apologies, which are exceedingly rare, are trumped up.

So what’s behind the extreme, knee-jerk offense he takes toward anything that suggest he might not be everything to everybody, or that he might even be wr — wro — wrong on occasion? Let’s look into it a bit. Trump’s hubris reminds me of the 1980 Mac Davis hit, It’s Hard To Be Humble:

 

Oh, Lord, it’s hard to be humble

When you’re perfect in every way

I can’t wait to look in the mirror

I get better looking each day

To know me is to love me

I must be a hell of a man

Oh, Lord, it’s hard to be humble

But I’m doing the best that I can

 

Seriously. From all indications, Donald Trump would see this as a solemn prayer. This is a man who, as a Christian, claims he can’t ever remember asking God’s forgiveness for anything in particular, or, for that matter, in general, unless you count Communion, possibly. His answers to the simplest questions of faith are staggeringly, breathtakingly evasive and ignorant.

Has he ever asked God for forgiveness?

“That’s a tough question… I’m a religious person… I go to church… I’m a Presbyterian.”

But, has he ever asked God for forgiveness?

“I’m not sure I have… I don’t think so… If I do something wrong, I think I just try and make it right… I don’t bring God into that picture. I don’t.”

What is his relationship with God?

“Well, I pray; I go to church… I’m a businessperson… I’ve made some of the great deals… I own some of the greatest properties in the world… I went to a phenomenal school, the Wharton School of Business…”

That’s his relationship with God?

Talk about unclear on the concept. That interview says a lot about why Trump acts the way he does. He thinks of himself functionally as the Alpha and Omega. God is merely another resource Trump can put to use as the need arises. Asking forgiveness isn’t all that necessary when you’re just about perfect in every way, right? Trump is being as honest as he knows how to be, but that just happens to be honestly, cluelessly deluded about the most basic understanding of the good news of Jesus Christ, despite his obviously clear, formidable business sense.

In retaliation against Trey Gowdy’s non-attack of an endorsement of Rubio, Trump said of Gowdy’s presidence over the Benghazi hearings, “It was a total not-good for Republicans and for the country…”

Really, Donald? “A total not-good?” Isn’t that a little surfacy? Would you like to re-say that? Couldn’t you try a little more harder? How about just saying, “Fooey! Trey is a dookieheaded wormbutt!” Wait. Is “not-good” supposed to be a noun? Is it even a word?

Not good alternative spellings   Oxford Dictionaries  US English   US

No, it’s not. Good. This attitude, though, is precisely why Donald Trump has no business in the Oval Office. Oh, no, that’s a privilege reserved for minions, community organizers, poster boys, political proxies and their interns. Sorry; was that below the belt?

This same infantile attitude reared its ugly head when Ben Carson was on top of the Iowa polls for about 2 weeks back in October. Trump’s measured response? He asked aloud, literally, in front of thousands of Iowan voters, how stupid Iowa voters could be, suggested they would be fools to believe Carson’s Christian testimony — you know, because Trump is so familiar with actual conversion experiences — and then compared Carson to a child molester. Oh, yes, he did. This is how secure Trump is.

Donald Trump is sure he is God’s gift to the American electorate. Do we really believe him? If not, then how long will we enable this poser?

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on December 28, 2015 by in Here We Go Again.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,614 other subscribers

Share This Blog


Facebook
Twitter
More...

What You Missed

Top Rated

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,614 other subscribers

Share This Blog


Facebook
Twitter
More...

What You Missed

Top Rated